Hobart and William Smith Colleges
1–2 April 2017


The Program Committee for the 2017 meeting of the Music Theory Society of New York State (MTSNYS) invites proposals for papers and presentations on any topic related to music theory and analysis.

  1. Proposals are invited for regular thirty-minute presentations or for other formats, such as poster sessions and special panels.
  2. Any number of proposals may be submitted by an individual, but no more than one will be accepted.
  3. Papers given at national conferences or previously published will not be considered.
  4. Presentations by graduate students will be eligible for the Patricia Carpenter Award, which includes a cash prize and publication in Theory and Practice.

This year's keynote address will be given by Suzannah Clark (Harvard University).

Paper submission should include:

  1. A PROPOSAL of no more than 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes, sent as a PDF file uploaded on the online proposal submission form (see link below). The proposal may be accompanied by a maximum of four (4) pages of supplementary material (such as musical examples, diagrams, and bibliography), not to be counted within the 500-word limit, and coplied together with the proposal into a single PDF file. Note that any supplementary text (e.g. example captions and analytical annotations) should not appreciably add to the content of the proposal. Proposals for thirty-minute presentations must not include the author’s name and should be purged of any indications of the author’s identity. “Author” tags must be removed from electronic files. Proposals for non-conventional formats need not be submitted anonymously.
  2. An ABSTRACT of 200–250 words, suitable for publication, also attached as a separate PDF file.
    Please use the following naming convention for PDF files:
  3. Proposals should be submitted electronically at this URL: http://bit.ly/mtsnys
    The application interface will ask for the submitter’s name, address, institutional affiliation, academic status, telephone number, plus a list of special needs such as A/V, electronic keyboard, or piano. Other questions (such as gender, academic rank, and nationality) will be used for statistical purposes only. Questions may be addressed to Julie Pedneault-Deslauriers at MTSNYSProposals@gmail.com

PROPOSAL DEADLINE IS 1 OCTOBER 2016, 11:59 P.M., Eastern Daylight Time

Hobart and William Smith Colleges is located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of upstate New York, at the tip of Seneca Lake and at the starting point of the Seneca Wine Trail.

Members of the 2017 Program Committee are Julie Pedneault-Deslauriers (University of Ottawa), chair; Edward Klorman (McGill University); Judith Lochhead (Stony Brook University), William Marvin (ex officio, Eastman School of Music), and Crystal Peebles (Ithaca College).


To join MTSNYS

MTSNYS Membership


Officers, Committee Chairs


Patricia Carpenter Emerging Scholar Award

Call for Papers for 2017

Program and Abstracts from Meetings

Theory and Practice

Other Regional Society Pages


SMT Home Page

This page maintained by: Mary I. Arlin, Ithaca College
Last modified: Monday, 20 June 2016