Call For Papers

The College of Saint Rose (Albany, NY)
6–7 April 2019
Deadline: 3 December 2018, 11:59 p.m., EST

The program committee for the 2019 meeting of the Music Theory Society of New York State (MTSNYS) invites proposals for papers and presentations on any topic related to music theory and analysis. The Music Theory Society of New York State was established in 1971 to provide a forum for the exchange of information and ideas pertaining to teaching music theory, and to promote music theory as both a scholarly and a pedagogical discipline. It aims to foster the development of all aspects of the discipline of music theory, including music theory pedagogy and research. It supports and encourages pre-professionals with a graduate student workshop and the Patricia Carpenter Emerging Scholar Award. It is committed to advancing greater inclusion and diversity in the field.

  1. Proposals are invited for either regular thirty-minute presentations or for other formats, such as special panels and poster sessions. Up to two proposals may be submitted by an individual, but no more than one will be accepted.
  2. Proposals for papers given at national conferences or previously published should not be submitted.
  3. Presentations by graduate students will be eligible for the Patricia Carpenter Award, which includes a cash prize and publication in Theory and Practice.
  4. All presenters will be invited to submit their paper for inclusion in the MTSNYS archives, housed in Sibley Library Special Collections at the Eastman School of Music.

Submission Requirements

Submission for individual papers should include:

  1. A proposal of no more than 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes, submitted as a PDF file. The proposal may be accompanied by a maximum of four pages of supplementary material (such as musical examples, diagrams, and bibliography), not to be counted within the 500-word limit, and compiled together with the proposal into a single PDF file. Note that any supplementary text (e.g., example captions and analytical annotations) should not appreciably add to the word count of the proposal. Proposals must not include the author’s name and should be purged of any indications of the author’s identity. Author tags must be removed from electronic files. (In Adobe Acrobat, go to the “File” menu, select “Properties,” and delete the name from the Author box.)
  2. An abstract of 200–250 words, suitable for publication, submitted as a separate PDF file.

Submissions for special panels and poster sessions should include:

  1. A proposal of no more than 500 words for the entire panel/session, following the guidelines above for individual papers.
  2. An abstract of 200–250 words for each paper/presentation, each of which should be anonymized and collated into a single document.

Proposals must be submitted electronically here at the MTSNYS User Dashboard. Please note that the deadline—3 December 2018—comes later in the year than the deadline for previous MTSNYS conferences.

The application interface will ask for the submitter’s name, address, email address, institutional affiliation (if any), academic status, and telephone number, plus a list of special needs such as A/V, electronic keyboard, or piano. Submissions with more than one author must include this identification information for all authors. Special session proposals and abstracts should be submitted by the session organizer, though each participant must submit their identifying information. Other information requested (such as gender, academic rank, and nationality) will be used for statistical purposes only—the committee will not have access to this data, nor will decisions be based on it, but it is requested in order to help the society with its long-term goal of achieving equitable representation. Questions may be addressed to Zachary Bernstein at

Recommendations for submitters

The program committee will be looking for submissions that include:

  1. Clearly articulated arguments and conclusions
  2. New approaches or fields of inquiry, and/or novel extensions of existing approaches
  3. Implications for the field in terms of musical and theoretical richness
  4. Strong writing and clear presentation of ideas
  5. Examples, if needed, that helpfully illustrate the project

Further, the committee encourages submitters to take advantage of the following resources:

  1. The SMT Professional Development Committee’s advice for preparing a conference proposal.
  2. The SMT Committee for the Status of Women’s Proposal Mentoring Program.

Members of the 2019 Program Committee are Zachary Bernstein (Eastman School of Music), chair; Ellie M. Hisama (Columbia University); Braxton D. Shelley (Harvard University); Daphne Tan (University of Toronto); and Timothy A. Johnson (ex officio, Ithaca College).