Emerging Scholar Awards

The Music Theory Society of New York State is delighted to announce that Marc Hannaford and Catrina Kim received the 2023 Emerging Scholar Award (Article) for their essays in volume 46 (2021) of Theory and Practice.

Marc E. Hannaford, “Fugitive music theory and George Russell’s theory of tonal gravity,” Theory and Practice, 46 (2021): 47–82.

Catrina Kim, “Issues in teaching music theory ethically: Reframing university directives of antiracist and decolonized curricula,” Theory and Practice, 46 (2021): 23–45.

The volume was guest edited by Ellie M. Hisama and Rachel Lumsden. Congratulations Catrina and Marc!